National Cycling Championship

The National Cycling Championship has been scheduled to take place from December 20 to 21st in Dar es salaam, Cycling Association of Tanzania (CAT).

Speaking yesterday, CAT chairman, Godfrey Jax Mhagama said the competition will feature six zones and Zanzibar. The names of zone and comprising regions are Coastal zone ( Dar es Salaam, Coast region, Morogoro and Tanga) while Central zone are Dodoma, Singida, Tabora and Kigoma.

Also in the list are; Mount Kilimanjaro zone (Kilimanjaro, Arusha, Manyara), Lake zone (Mwanza, Mara, Shinyanga, Kagera, Simiyu, Geita), Southern highland zone (Mbeya, Njombe, Rukwa, Katavi, Iringa) and Southern zone which comprise regions Lindi, Mtwara and Ruvuma.

Mhagama said that total of 205 cyclists are expecting to feature in the competition. He said that 25 women cyclists have so far confirmed in the competition.

“We expect to feature 35 women cyclists, we are yet to reach our deadline for the confirmation, but many female have been shown interest to show their prowess in the race,” said Mhagama.

He explained that the championship will have three disciplines namely, Road race, individual trial and team trial respectively. According to Mhagama, road race will be 160km for men and 80km for women and 40km for both individual and team time trial events.

“Our main focus is to select U-23 cyclists who will join in the special program ahead of the international competitions, we have five years strategic plans that will enable us to win  in the international competitions,” he said.

Meanwhile; the body will hold its first and historical general meeting from December 17 to 19 in the city. CAT secretary general, John Machemba said that the meeting will feature more than 150 stakeholders.

Machemba said that the meeting will discuss their five years strategic plans, constitution and financial plan that will take them to next level in developing the game countrywide.

Please download the forms in the link below:-



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *